Voters elect Jansen, Benitez, Caton and MacIntire to serve on Mountain Village Town Council; ballot question one prevails

Dan Jansen

Words by travisscheidegger / Election

Incumbent Dan Jansen, Laila Benitez, Dan Caton and Bruce MacIntire were elected to Mountain Village Town Council Tuesday. They will join current councilmembers Cath Jett, Marty McKinley and Michelle Sherry who were not up for re-election. The newly elected councilmembers will serve four-year terms.

The Mountain Village electorate also voted in favor of limiting the number of units that could ultimately be built on Lot 640A, formerly known as Telluride Apartments. Ballot Question One, a citizen-initiated ordinance that limits the number of units to 45, received 219 yes votes while Ballot Question Two, which would have limited the number of units to 60, failed.

Of the 821 mailed ballots, 422 were cast either by mail or in person.

At the July 16 Mountain Village Town Council Meeting, the newly elected councilmembers will be sworn in. Subsequently, members of Town Council will appoint the positions of mayor and mayor pro-tem.

The Numbers

Listed in the same order as they appeared on the ballot, following is the number of votes each candidate received, and the number of votes for each ballot question.

  • Dan Jansen: 224
  • DavidSchillaci:137
  • LailaBenitez:197
  • BruceMacIntire:149
  • JonetteBronson:75
  • Dan R. Garner: 114
  • John E. Howe: 41
  • JeffreyFasolo:13
  • Dan Caton: 196
  • Jonathan Greenspan: 120
  • Suse Connolly: 114
  • Brain Kanaga: 90
  • Richard Child: 73
  • Ballot Question One: 219 Yes, 180 No
  • Ballot Question Two: 199 Yes, 204 No

For more information about the election results, contact Town Clerk Jackie Kennefick at [email protected].