Registered Elector 2017

Mountain Village Town Council Election Set For June 27

Categories: Election

The Town of Mountain Village will hold a Regular Municipal Election June 27 to elect three Town Council Members. Ten candidates declared their candidacy for the upcoming election, and are listed on the ballot in this order: Paul Oupadia, Suse Connolly, Marla Meridith, David Schillaci, Jack Gilbride, Angela Pashayan, Natalie Binder, Richard Child, Jonathan Greenspan, and Patrick L. Berry. The order of candidates was determined based on a draw by lot. To learn more about each candidate, visit The three Town Council seats up for election are currently held by councilmembers Cath Jett, Marty McKinley and Michelle Sherry. Jett is termed out after serving two, four-year terms. She first served on Council in 2009 and as mayor pro-tem from July 2013 to June 2015. Councilmember McKinley has decided not to pursue a second term and has served as mayor pro-tem since July 2015. He joined Council in March of 2014 by appointment, filling the seat of former Councilmember Richard Child. Sherry, who is eligible to serve another four-year term, decided not to run for a second term. She was first elected to serve on Council in 2013. The last regular municipal election held in 2015 had one of its biggest turn outs with 13 candidates vying for four open seats. Once elected, the new Council will convene July 20.

“We are excited to see such a large number of candidates apply for Town Council. It shows that people are interested in making a difference in their community,” said Administration Director and Town Clerk Jackie Kennefick. “Several candidates have served on Town Council previously, and they are back wanting to serve again – that says a lot.”
The deadline to become a registered elector is Friday, May 26 by 5 p.m. (in person) and Monday, May 29 by 5 p.m. (online). Ballots will be mailed to registered voters between June 5 and June 12, and may be returned either by mail or in person to Town Hall, located at 455 Mountain Village Blvd., on or before June 27 to be counted. On Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. To learn more about the election, visit

Related Blogs

See more from the Blog