

AGENDA ITEM 7 PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT SERVICE PLANNING DIVISON 455 Mountain Village Blvd. Mountain Village, CO 81435 (970) 728-1392

то:	Mountain Village Town Council
FROM:	Amy Ward, Community Development Director
FOR:	Town Council Meeting of April 25, 2024
DATE:	April 15, 2024
RE:	Reappointment of Design Review Board Members Pursuant to Section 12.1.(b)(2) of the Town of Mountain Village Home Rule Charter

<u>Overview</u>

Section 12.1.(b) of the Town of Mountain Village Home Rule Charter states that the Design Review Board (DRB) shall consist of seven members appointed by the Town Council to two-year terms that overlap each other. In 2022, Town Council approved by Ordinance CDC amendments that changed the terms of DRB members from two years to four years to provide for longevity of the positions to allow for members to gain expertise in the tasks required of them by the Charter and the Community Development Code (CDC). Ordinance Nos. 2022-03 and 2022-11 were codified to allow for DRB terms to be four-year terms; however, this conflicts with the provisions of the Charter (which was not recognized by Town staff at the time). Due to a decision to delay Charter amendments that would provide consistent language between the CDC and Town Charter, the Town Council must review and reappoint members to the DRB to ensure continuity of membership for the Board.

In June of 2023, four members were appointed to terms that remain current; however, there are five members (four regular members and one alternate) whose terms per the CDC would end in 2026, but per the Charter would end in April of 2024:

- Banks Brown (Chairperson)
 - Scott Bennett

- Dave Craige
- Jim Austin (Alternate)

Adam Miller

Design Review Board Consideration

At their regular meeting of April 4, 2024, the DRB members were made aware of the need to reappoint them to their seats due to the conflict between the Town Charter and an ordinance that extended terms legislatively (Ordinance Nos. 2022-03 and 2022-11). All current members and alternates at the end of their current term indicated that they desired to be reappointed to the DRB. When they were appointed to their current terms, the DRB members understood that they were being appointed to a four-year term, and due to this we are not opening up the DRB seats to the broader public at this time.

Proposed Motion "I move to reappoint the following Design Review Board Members to two-year terms, expiring on April 23, 2026: Banks Brown, Scott Bennett, Adam Miller, Dave Craige, and Jim Austin as first alternate."